top of page

Get to know the designer

First of all, let me apologize for the long silence. This year has taken it's toll on me. We are still self quarantined (since March) and Washington has just prolonged the second lockdown until January.

We have to be super careful because my husband is high risk. In October he had a heart attack, which scared the living daylights out of me. He is fine now and working hard to change his diet. I am so proud of him and so happy he is perfectly fine now. (Well except having to watch what he eats etc lol, but given what could have happened, I thank my lucky stars!!! Love you babe!!!🐝❤🐻♾😘)

Also since August, I was super depressed and have not worked at all. Slowly I am climbing my way back out of this particularily deep hole. Usually when I don't feel well/am sad, I work twice as hard, like in a frenzy, so this really threw me. It's a surely out of character. My family started to seriously worry.

I am just about to get back into the swing of things though. I promise.


So to start things back off, I thought I introduce you to one of my friends, who happens to be a crochet designer.

She just came out with a new pattern and I thought maybe you would enjoy reading a short interview.


Her name is Stephanie Davies, she lives currently in Germany, but lived before that in South Africa. (I almost nearly moved to Central Africa, so I am all squeeeee over this.)



Stephanie designs tunisian and regular crochet patterns. Very intriguing! Her patterns are available in US, UK and German terminology.


Well. I best give her the floor and let her tell you in her own words.



Bridgett: How old were you when you started to crochet? Stephanie: I started crocheting when I was around ten. It was out of frustration because we had to do a knitting project at school, but since I'm left-handed I was really struggling. My teacher didn't know what to do with a leftie! I told my mom that I got a bad mark for my knitting and she asked if I'd like to learn how to crochet instead. She figured one stick is easier than two. She taught me how to make chains and single crochets. But after that she was done since it was hard for her to teach me left-handed. She gave me a stitch pattern booklet, which had descriptions for all the stitches in it. It also had written and charted descriptions for all the patterns. I taught the rest to myself. For a very long time I never used a pattern from a book or magazine (pre internet days) because the booklet my mom gave me was in German, and we were living in South Africa, so the only patterns I had access to were in English or Afrikaans and I didn't understand the terminology in either language. I only started using other designers' patterns after joining Instagram, which was around 2009 or so.


Bridgett: Why tunisian crochet? What do you love about it/fascinates you?

Stephanie: I'm fairly new to Tunisian crochet but I love how it gives you a different, more knitted, texture. I love that it opens up many more stitch possibilities when used in conjunction with crochet. It's also not true that you need special long hooks for it, which is what scares most people off, I think. My Tunisian patterns can all be made with a regular length hook, as long as it's not an ergo grip hook. Bridgett: I used to get asked a lot how I got started in design, so let me ask you: How did you get started in designing?

Stephanie: I had all these crochet ideas in my head, and at some point I thought it would be nice to share them with others. I started a blog - a bag full of crochet- and was quite active there for a while. But even before the blog I had never really used patterns to make things, because I couldn't find any German ones I liked. So, I guess you could say I started designing out of necessity? In South Africa I spent a year designing for a Women's magazine, which then led to doing design work for a well known South African yarn manufacturer until we moved to Germany in 2015. Bridgett: Do you have any other hobbies, beside crochet?

Stephanie: I also knit and spin, and recently completed my first fiber to finished wearable project, which I'm quite proud of. I have also started drawing again. I also take all my own product photographs. Bridgett: Do you have a favourite spot/corner in your home, where you do your work?

Stephanie: We currently have a very small apartment, our bedroom is also our lounge, and since I tend to Netflix while crocheting I'm usually on my bed. I do have a little nook that I set up for myself, in case I can't sleep and want to work without disturbing the hubby.

A comfortable chair in a little alcove under a window, draped with handmade blankets a yellow pendant light hangs from the ceiling. Indoor plants are on the window sil and on a small table in the corner. A chest of drawers is in the foreground. Diverse artwork on the wall.
I adore all the handmade blankets and the plants! Such a cozy corner! ❤

Bridgett: What is your favourite pattern stitch?

Stephanie: Oh, I don't think there is such a thing. At least not for me. But I do prefer patterns with a variety of stitches. I find rows and rows of one stitch incredibly boring and always go for lace, or cable patterns. Something to keep my interest. Bridgett: Where do you get ideas for your designs/what inspires you?

Stephanie: I consider myself an architectural designer, which means that I look at stitch patterns and then work out how to incorporate them into a design. Sometimes, like with the Sanctuary Sawl, I'm inspired by actual architecture - cathedral rose windows- or nature. Bridgett: Tell us a little about your process. How do you write latterns? Is there a finished idea in your head before you start? Do they progress as you go along? Do you make sketches?

Stephanie: I usually start by sketching an idea out and once I'm happy with that I translate it into stitches. Sometimes I get it right on the first try and I don't actually have any swatches, and sometimes I do swatches and redo sections to make them work better. In some cases I don't make any sketches, I just have an idea in my head and I 'draw' it with hook and yarn straight out of my brain ;) Bridgett: What is your favourite fibre combo to work within?

Stephanie: I love working with natural fibers, both animal and plant based, although since living in Germany I am leaning much more towards animal fibers because they are just cosier and keep me warmer - I get cold easily. In South Africa I used to love working with bamboo. It's a great fiber for warm countries since it's naturally cooler by a few degrees than other fibers, and is also hypoallergenic. One negative aspect of bamboo is the fact that it has a tendency to stretch.

Bridgett: What crochet hooks are you using? Which ones would you recommend and why?

Stephanie: I mainly use KnitPro hooks. I have a lovely wooden set, which has metal ends to screw cables into, similar to interchangeable knitting needles, for Tunisian crochet, although I hardly use the cables. I also have a set of soft grip KnitPro hooks, which I was given as a thank you for translation work on a pattern a few years ago.



Thank you so much, Stephanie for letting us into your world for a bit. I love your cozy little corner and the cute little heart bowls! I must get that pattern for February! ❤❤❤


I hope you all enjoyed learning a bit about Stephanie and how she does what she does. I always find it interesting to take a peek into someone else's inner workings.


I promise I will be back this weekend with a tiny sock pattern for gift toppers. 😘❤

Xo


🐝

28 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page