top of page

The thrift store

... is my happy place.

So many things! Some cool, some quirky and some well. Not a home run to put it politely lol.


I actually have a running list of "what I am looking for right now" at the thrift store. Things get added as I think of them/have a need for them and take off as I find them, or something similar to do the job.


My family also does thrift store games lol.

We each walk around and at the end of the thrift store.visit, we check who found the quirkiest item. Sometimes they are just fun, sometimes neither of us knows what an item is for and we have to look it up, but it is always fun. (We don't intend to buy these things, just a bit of a fun game.)


Thrift store bingo! Make up a list of items to find at the store. And see who finds them all/finds the most/gets the most hilarious substitutes...


We usually just play for the laughs, but you certainly could have prizes at the end.


We didn't go to a thrift store all last year, but have slowly started to venture again since getting vaccinated in April. Oh how I have missed it.


We try to go once a month.

It's when I stock up ( as available) on threads, embroidery floss, zippers and such. If they have nice fabric, I snatch it up as well. Sometimes I get lucky and get several yards of the same fabric for $2. But due to the nature of what I sew, smaller pieces are just as welcome here.


This month we went and I got a real winner. A late 1960's Hamilton beach stand mixer, with both original bowls. I snatched that puppy up so fast! Here is a photo before I even took off the price tag and the tape holding the bowls in place lol



I also always grab cute tins when I am at the thrift sstore. They come in handy for all kinds of things from storing buttons to loose teas. (I wash them out and line them with a bag to store food items in old tins.)

This time I was lucky enough to be able to get this pretty tin for a few cents. I just love the colours. Not sure what I will be using it for just yet, but something will come up.


Vintage blue tin with pink flowers and golden trim on white background

Notebooks are another item always on my list. The thrift store has loads of them. Some are never before used. We write lots of lists and I like to use them for sketchbooks. So they are always in demand. When I saw these two leather bound ones for $2 each, I had to take them home. One of then is refillable! How cool is that? The red one is from Japan and has luscious thick paper in it. That was quite the lucky find.


I also always keep an eye out for vintage knitting needles and crochet hooks. I have a collection of sorts lol.

I don't always get lucky on that front, but this time I struck the jackpot!!! I found this delicate set. They passed the hot needle test, so they must be bone needles.

The tiny hammer was made in two parts and is actually moving within the hand that holds it.

I am blown away by the detail.

And they were just hanging up with all the Susan Bates metal needles as you please. 😳 Same price even. So yeah. They came home with me and are now in my collection.


This is an antique knitting needle set. Delicately carved had, holding a hammer. There are traces of red paint.

I still have to clean the needles, but want to be absolutely careful so not to destroy the paint remnants on it. So they are patiently sitting and waiting for a day where I have more time to do this. No rushing on that job.


More items on my list right now are a lampshade "skeleton ", so I can cover it with an idea I had... and baskets are a perpetual item, just like dishes and kitchen items. I am in the process of exchanging all the dishes I have. They were given to me and really are so not me. But they did the job and have been around for a good 10 years. I plan to exchange then one plate at a time, as I find the ones I truly love at the thrift store and then donate mine. They are still in good shape, just sick of the design lol


What are some of the items you look for in the thrift store?

Are there items you *always* buy? Or do you just go when you are looking for something specific?


I can't wait for next month's trip and see what I can find. Off my list, or otherwise. 😆


Wishing everyone a great weekend!


Xo,❤


B.🐝

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page