top of page

Apartment makeover on a pocket lint budget

I am on a must-get-the-apartment-spruced-up-kick, but I am also on a pocket lint and gum wrappes budget.


The solution to this is obviously to make as much as I can myself, or get it from craigslist/thrift stores.


We are very lucky. Most if our furniture are real wood and all that is needed I a good sanding and a new coat of paint, to freshen them up. That will go a long way to help stretch the budget.

We decided to buy strategic items for the place brand new. We need a couch for example. We don't have one right now. So that will be first on the shopping list.


On the home made front, I started with something easy.

New place mats. I have tons of fabric scraps, let me put them to good use. I made each family member a new place mat in their favourite colours. (The one for my oldest son is not done yet. I need more green fabric and he isn't going to come visit again until next year anyway.)


I started out by cutting a backing fabric to size (most place mats are about 18 x 14 inches). I made sure the backing matched the front main colour. Since I suck at measuring, mine turned out approx 19 x 15 inches, but I digress.



Then I picked out fabric scraps to cover the entire backing fabric, making sure they overlapped each other, so I could turn the edges under.

As batting I used some flannel baby blankets. Once everything was layer out and I liked the arrangement, I started sewing the patches together.


Placement of fabric scraps to cover another place mat backing. Different fabric scraps are placed randomly on the backing to overlap and entirely cover the backing

From there on, I proceeded like I would with a regular quilt, sandwiching the three layers, safety pin basting, quilting it all together (I did a stitch in the ditch), and then I squared it all off one more time and popped a single fold bias tape around the edge.

In the photo below you can see the lines of measurement for squaring the mat off once it is all quilted together. You can also see the safety pin basting.

Random fabric scraps, mostly white and pink, have been sewn together and the newly formed fabric has been safety pinned in place together with the backing and the batting

Close up of single layer bias tape with metered corner going around the corner of the place mat

All 5 place mats were hand sewn, as usual. It took about a day to make each one. It was such a joy to sit and slow stitch each one. Thinking about the person it was for and making sure I used fabric that reflects their personality. ❤


I rather like how they all turned out. Can't wait to use them first time round on Thanksgiving.


Collage of the 5 finished place mats. Left top corner clockwise: red mat, orange mat, blue mat, purple mat pinkish mat

Well that's it so far.

We have decided on a new couch, but I won't show it until it arrives and I have the living room put together around it.


Hope everyone is having a good time, stay safe, be kind.


Xo,❤


B. 🐝




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art journling on a budget part 2, mark making tools

I am so sorry. This video has been up on YouTube since Friday and I completely forgot to post it here. I apologise. Alas. Here it is. Artjournalling on a budget, markmaking tools. https://youtu.be/_R

Art journal on a budget. The video

My blog is being difficult and not letting me add photos right now, or videos, so I have to give you a link to youtube. So, if you are in the mood to hear me ramble on for 20 minutes about paper... b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page