top of page

Blending stumps.

I got a new commission. This means a few preparatory sketches are in order and back to drawing more.

While getting all my stuff together, I noticed I need to stock up on my favourite pencils. I also noticed I am completely out of blending stumps.


5 Hand made paper blending stumps on a wooden background

The former has to wait until I can get to the store, the latter can be taken care if right in house.


A few scrap papers and a bit of patience and I have 5 new blending stumps.


Scissors, a piece of white scrap paper, a bit of sandpaper and a glue stick on a wooden background.

A piece of white scrap paper on a wooden background the photo has instructions of how to roll it up to make a paper stump and how to change size if you want a fatter/taller stump.

Simply take a paper rectangle, cut one corner off, to make rolling a bit easier, and start rolling from the shorter edge straight across to the other side. A bit of glue and presto! Done.


If you run the paper over the edge of a table, or across a knitting needle/closed edge of your scissors it will curl a bit and make rolling a bit easier. You know. The way you would curl a ribbon for on top of presents?


Close up of how tight you want to roll the stump.

You have to roll this super tight. You do not want a hole in the center.


Once it is all rolled up, take some sandpaper and sharpen your new stump to a point.


Finished blending stumps being sharpened on a bit of sandpaper

Depending on how long your rectangle is, your stump will come out skinny or fatter, depending on how tall you made it will result in a long stump, or a... stumpy one lol.


I try to roll evenly across, but it never goes even. The important part is what will be the tip. You have to make sure that is tight! The back can be trimmed down a little later.

When you get to the end, put a bit of glue all the way across the end short edge and fi ish rolling it up. That will make it stay closed. I like to use glue sticks for that bit.


Finished blending stumps on wooden backdrop.

Either way, it's easy and fast and a great use for scrap paper.


Try it out!


Xo,❤


B. 🐝

21 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art journling on a budget part 2, mark making tools

I am so sorry. This video has been up on YouTube since Friday and I completely forgot to post it here. I apologise. Alas. Here it is. Artjournalling on a budget, markmaking tools. https://youtu.be/_R

Art journal on a budget. The video

My blog is being difficult and not letting me add photos right now, or videos, so I have to give you a link to youtube. So, if you are in the mood to hear me ramble on for 20 minutes about paper... b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page