top of page

Favourite backpack



Happy Monday again! The weeks just seem to race by lately!

I spent the weekend mending this favourite backpack.


Photo of a grey backpack, laying on a white background with the straps up and the bag part down. There are a few frayed areas, in need of repair. One can also see several previously repaired patches along the edges of the straps, which have frayed again.

We have had it for about 10 or 11 years now. My husband bought it way back when at target. It is super comfortable. Even when full to burt with groceries it doesn't hurt your shoulders. When you walk everywhere, even grocery shopping, a good backpack is worth gold!

My husband recently got a new-to-us one at the thrift store and passed this one down to our son.


With covid, we wash everything we had on/with us when out and about. This includes shopping bags/backpacks. So they see a lot more wear.



I fixed the backpack once before, but the inside edges of the straps were getting frayed again, and the bottom had an honest to goodness hole in the bottom this time.


A finger coming through a hole in the bottom of the grey backpack

Out came my fabric scraps. Thankfully I save every tiny bit lol.


I patched the bottom hole from the outside, as well as from the inside with some cotton fabric. I will.most likely reinforce it on the inside with a scrap of old jeans fabric, once my sewing machines work again. (Not going to sew through heavy backpack AND Jean fabric by hand. I am crazy, but not stupid.)

The bottom of the backpack all fixed up with a few colourful printed rectangular scraps of cotton fabric.


One little hole at the top, I fixed by weaving over the strands still there and adding a few more with the mending thread I got at the thrift store. Just so happens to be almost the perfect cour for this backpack.


Repaired holes on the top of the backpack. One was fixed by sewing a scrap of striped ticking fabric over it, the other one was fixed by imitating the original backpack weave of the fabric with grey mending thread.

All patches have been hand sewn, since my sewing machines are still out of sorts. Now the backpack can carry on a few more years. Zero waste.


Finished with the repairs on the grey backpack. The pack is laying upside down on a white background the starps now have a bunch of colourful scraps sewn onto and over  the edges.

Zero waste is not about getting the newest reusable whatever. Zero waste means predominantly and most importantly to make do with what you have. Make the stuff you have last longer. Keep it out of the landfills one more year, or all together if it is recyclable, or compostable. Fix things, reuse things, find new uses for old things.

That is Zero waste. That will reduce your carbon footprint. That will help safe our beautiful planet.🌎❤✌☮

Try it out. Zero waste is not expensive. Actually it will help you save money!


Sending lots of hugs your way.


Xo,


B. 🐝

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art journling on a budget part 2, mark making tools

I am so sorry. This video has been up on YouTube since Friday and I completely forgot to post it here. I apologise. Alas. Here it is. Artjournalling on a budget, markmaking tools. https://youtu.be/_R

Art journal on a budget. The video

My blog is being difficult and not letting me add photos right now, or videos, so I have to give you a link to youtube. So, if you are in the mood to hear me ramble on for 20 minutes about paper... b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page