top of page

Festive throw pillows, a tutorial of sorts.

A few years ago, I made myself a few festive throw pillow covers.

They were quickly done and look so cute.

You can make them as fancy, or plain as you like.


I simply bought a few holiday themed dish towels at the dollar store (you can certainly use more expensive ones) and went to town.


Red pillow with a printed wreath on it and the word Noel. There are white dots on the red background, representing snowflakes

Once you have your towels picked out ( which is the hardest part of this operation, I promise), take off all the tags. I also opened up all the seams, which in hindsight was not necessary.


White pillow with teal and blue stylized snowflakes and the words up to snow good. A small stuffed penguin toy is peeking g out from behind the pillow

Once the tags are off, simply fold your towel in half, right sides facing each other, and start seeing the three open sides. Leave about 3 inches open to turn and stuff the pillow, finish off the seam with a blind stitch, presto.

You can opt for a zipper in the bottom, if you want to be able to change the cover, or use different fabric for the backing and make an envelope pillow cover. Easy as pie, but one towel will not be enough fabric, so you need some extra for the foldover back.


I added a blanket stitch all the way around the pillow cover and then used that to crochet a matching border around each pillow. You could of course use a knitted border, or some lace, or leave it off completely. Go as wild as you like.


I will make more this year and I think I will use zippers this time. They store easier when not stuffed. Plus getting them freshened up each year is as easier that way as we'll. Just toss them in the washer.

I think they make adorable gifts and are easy to make. I hand sewed mine, but if you have a machine, you can knock a bunch of them out in minutes.


Happy handmade solstice, everyone! ❤🌲



Xo


B🐝



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art journling on a budget part 2, mark making tools

I am so sorry. This video has been up on YouTube since Friday and I completely forgot to post it here. I apologise. Alas. Here it is. Artjournalling on a budget, markmaking tools. https://youtu.be/_R

Art journal on a budget. The video

My blog is being difficult and not letting me add photos right now, or videos, so I have to give you a link to youtube. So, if you are in the mood to hear me ramble on for 20 minutes about paper... b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page