top of page

More pretty flower pots


A hot plant inside a cache pot wrapped in colourful fabric twine with a ball of fabric twine next to it. On a white background

Since potted plants have become a big deal on instagram, Flower pots and cache pots have gotten ridiculous expensive. (Not to mention "in" plants skyrocketing in price!)


I have over 70 different planters in my house. Just indoor plants! Some of those planters have a bunch of different plants in a group setting, so there are way over 100 plants in my house alone, never mind out on the balcony.

Getting pretty plant pots for them all is just not in the budget.


I have gotten a bunch of terra cotta pots and a few pretty cache pots in free piles and I always keep an eye out in thrift stores for planters.

The kitchen isles are a great way to get fun cache pots. Or you can simply drill holes and plant directly into a cute soup terrine, or coffee pot. If it sits still long enough, I will put a plant in it. I will put together a post of my planters some day. So you can see, I am not kidding.


I also keep all the plastic pots my plants come home in. Or most of them anyway.


I figured I would spiff a few of them up to make them pretty enough to use around the house and out on the balcony.


I got this first idea from watching all the tick tock videos of people gluing twine around plastic laundry baskets.

I wondered if my fabric twine would work.

And it does! It looks super cute, if you ask me.


So here is what you need:


Balls of fabric twine, a hot glue gun, a plastic flower pot grouped together on a white background

🟢 Fabric twine. There are tons of tutorials around already, I doubt I have to post one. I will put a link to one though, just in case. (Not affiliated with the account, just one I thought explained it well.)

🟢 You also need hot glue (regular glue/mod podge might work, but it will definitely take longer.)

🟢 Scissors to cut the twine at the end

🟢⚠️ possibly a thick mitten/glove for your non dominant hand, because hot glue is freaking HOT!

🟢 and obvs you need a clean plastic pot. Or a clean margarine case, or whatever other clean plastic container you have and want to use.


I started at the bottom of the pot, but you could just as well start at the top. Put a dab of hot glue and stick the end of the twine to it.


Plastic flower pot slowly being covered in fabric twine

At first I just used glue sporadically in spots, but soon figured out continuously is better. So I layed down a strip of glue of about 2-3 inches and then stuck the twine to it. I directed the twine with my right hand and held my left hand to the inside of the pot to be able to push the twine in the glue. ⚠️Wearing a glove on your non dominant hand (inside-pot-hand) saves you from feeling the hot glue through the thin plastic. I burnt my hand, so be smarter than the average bee...


Closeup of the hot glue and fabric twine  being wrapped around the plastic flower pot

When you run out of twine simply start a new one. I overlapped the ends a bit. I also really twisted the twine when I got to the end, where it likes to come unravelled, then stuck it to the hot glue.


At first I thought I start a wee bit above the end of the pot (like 1/3of an inch, you can see it in the photo above) to save the fabric twine from getting wet when I water the plant (the plastic pot I used had drainage holes), but it looked a bit weird, so I added more to the bottom when I was done. As I will only use this as a cache pot, I can take the plant out to water it and protect the twine that way.

Just keep on wrapping and gluing until the whole container is covered.

Presto!


Hoja plant inside the finished, fabric twine wrapped flower pot on white background

I think it turned out super cute and only cost me the price of hot glue and fabric scraps, which I always have on hand anyway.


Hope this inspired you to use your fabric twine and make some cute Flower pots. 🌼


See you soon!


Xo,❤


B. 🐝


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art journling on a budget part 2, mark making tools

I am so sorry. This video has been up on YouTube since Friday and I completely forgot to post it here. I apologise. Alas. Here it is. Artjournalling on a budget, markmaking tools. https://youtu.be/_R

Art journal on a budget. The video

My blog is being difficult and not letting me add photos right now, or videos, so I have to give you a link to youtube. So, if you are in the mood to hear me ramble on for 20 minutes about paper... b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page