top of page

Simplicity journal

I made another recycled journal.


All paper is from empty paper flour and sugar bags.

The cover is and old Simocity paper pattern envelope.

I found a few of the old patterns I have stashed away and decided this one was OK to use for a journal cover. The tie is made from old typewriter tape.

Simplicity pattern envelope used as a journal cover for a handmade, recycled journal tied closed with typewriter tape


I have a few more, really old ones from the 40's. Not the best shape and not worth much, but I got them from a very sweet person, so they will not be used up, but rather I want to frame them for when I have a studio again.

Here are some photos of the really old ones:



Vintage simicity pattern from around 1940. The image on the envelope shows 3 different versions of a ladder dress with a detail of the smocking.

See what I mean by not in good shape? But it is precisely those rips and tears and the used quality of these envelopes that tugs at me. I love took at it and remember the lady that gave them to me. How she chose these patterns for a reason. How she bought them full anticipation and selected her fabric and made these pieces for her daughters and other family memebrs/friends, possibly. Maybe they were gifts?

I don't really sew clothes a whole lot, but yet this makes me feel connected to all the sewists and seamstresses and tailors before me. And possibly generations to come after I am long gone.

It is a reminder.

I am a small piece of the great task to keep our needlecrafts alive. To pass them on to the next generation. To make sure the thread does not get broken. 🪡🧵


Have you been sewing today?

Maybe you should!


Xo❤


B. 🐝

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art journling on a budget part 2, mark making tools

I am so sorry. This video has been up on YouTube since Friday and I completely forgot to post it here. I apologise. Alas. Here it is. Artjournalling on a budget, markmaking tools. https://youtu.be/_R

Art journal on a budget. The video

My blog is being difficult and not letting me add photos right now, or videos, so I have to give you a link to youtube. So, if you are in the mood to hear me ramble on for 20 minutes about paper... b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page