top of page

Apartment makeover

We have lived in this apartment for 4 years now. We have been moving furniture around in a fun game of musical chairs lol. But not really done anything major.

I have been meaning to give it a makeover since January 2020. But then all he'll broke lose and it took the wind out of my sails. I couldn't go anywhere and everything just went by the wayside.

I did manage to make a new courtian for the kitchen window, but that is about as far as I got.


I am not planning on throwing out any furniture and buying new. I want to work with what I have. Although adding a few pieces is not out of the question. I definitely need another chest of drawers/sideboard for the bedroom and a few more bookshelves.

We have nice, whole wood furniture, which we picked up at the thrift store and by the side of the road. (I live in a college town and every July it's like Christmas around here for furniture and small appliances.)

I did get rid of my wood pallet sofa. It is now outside on my balcony. The rest of my furniture just needs cosmetic changes. A face-lift through paint.


I have been putting ideas and mood boards together for now. I guess I give it a go next January. This will give me more time to zero in on what I need to paint, what needs to be let go and what I need to add.



Collage of pictures of Rococo rooms and remained Marie antoinette shoes
My rococo mood board. I love the light and the light heartened of rococo. Not as heavy as Baroque and a bit brighter.


I have found out that I am really into nordic noir and the darker side of Alice in Wonderland. Also rococo with it's light and flowers and exuberance is top on the list. Along with dark mori.

I guess maybe a sort of dark shabby chic? With a few pops of colour?


I leave you with a few of the inspiration pics I gathered.



Dark grey, Alice in Wonderland inspired mood board
This is a mood board I found already put together. But I liked it, so I saved it
Grey mood board with pictures of old frames and landscapes.
This is a board I put together. I love these colours and textures exceedingly.

What inspires you?

How would you describe your decorstiong style?


I will post photos as I go along and make up my mind about what piece of furniture gets which colour treatment.


Xo,❤


B. 🐝


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art journal on a budget. The video

My blog is being difficult and not letting me add photos right now, or videos, so I have to give you a link to youtube. So, if you are in the mood to hear me ramble on for 20 minutes about paper... b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page