top of page

Cactus car


Little wooden toy car covered in crochet
Cactus car!


My husband went to throw the trash and noticed that someone had discarded this cute little toy car. After closer inspection he found out that one wheel popped off the axel, but it was still there.

So, having been married to me for over 20 years, he did the only thing imaginable and brought it home. Popped off wheel and all.


Little handmade wooden car with a broken wheel
The state I got it in.

I looked at it for a while and then....

Did the only other imaginable thing and crochet around it.

Big floppy flower? Of course it needs one!!!


My daughter thinks it looks like a cactus. And Cactus car was born. 🌵


Front view of the crochet car
Front view of cactus car

It needs longer axels now because of the thickness of the yarn, but I have tons of sticks laying around, so that should not be a problem.


A bit of glue could have fixed the car. I don't understand why they tossed it. These cars are hand made by a person in our town every Holiday season and he drops them off at churches and food banks to be given out to the children.


Somehow I ended up with three of these now in my possession, because people give them to me when they break. They are not hard to fix.

These little cars are super cute and so easy to customize for little ones.

Stuff like this costs an arm and a leg at the store and there they were made by a machine, not by hand....


Well. I gladly take them, fix them, paint them, or otherwise make them unique and then pop them in my gift box. Someone is always having a baby, and eventually I might have grandchildren... so they come in handy. 🥰


Little cactus car from the back
Backside, with the spare tire 😁

29 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page