top of page

Handmade is best

For a few years now I have been in love with the look of ancient Roman hair pins.

I look at every new find chronicled online. They are simple and gorgeous hair pieces. I have been dreaming of owning reproductions for my own for just about as long. (Do yourself a favour and Google ancient Roman Hair Pins.... your eyes will pop out!)


This year, for our anniversary, my husband suggested as a gift to me, I should find an artisan and have some made.

Well, he didn't have to tell me twice.


I also didn't have to look very long for a craftsperson. I went straight to Frank and Jen from Lotsacopper.

Last year for my Birthday, my husband had a copper bumble bee pendant made for me. It is so gorgeous and one of my absolute favourite pieces of jewellery. So it was obvious that would be my first stop to ask if they are up to a challenge again lol. Here is a photo of my bee. No, it does not turn my skin green, because he has treated it with a glaze, but it still gets that amazing patina over time. I do not know what sorcery it is, but there you have it. 🙃



I sent Frank a DM and shortly after he replied in the affirmative and then the work began.

I sent him this image below, because this is my absolute favourite one to date.(photo originally from here)


Photo collage of different angles of an ancient Roman hairpins made from metal with a purple glass bead with flowers and tow metal beads on either side of it.

He asked me a few questions and off he went to produce a first incarnation, to see what would work for me and what would not. He also did a lot of research himself and really went all in on this project.


New copper hair pin with a copper wire tangle bead and a smaller copper bead on top

With this first one done, it gave us both a better understanding of what could be done and what would not work because of material limitations etc.


The copper wire bead on top was a place holder for the glass beads. I liked it a lot already, but I had my heart set on glass beads and he went to sleuth out where to procure the best ones. He came through again. The ones he found were absolutely gorgeous.


A few more dm's and questions and answers and he showed me this.


Reproduction ancient Roman hair pins with various coloured glass beads and copper sticks

Omg! I was blown away! This was so much better than what I had in my head!! I could not wait for him to finish my set and for it to arrive!!


Frank and Jen now have these pins listed in their etsy shop, here, in case you want some of your own.


Set of 6 reproduction roman hair pins with glass beads. 3 plain pink glass beads and 3 black with pink roses.

I have a set of 6 pink ones right now, but I fell in love with the garnet coloured ones (they remind me of a traditional jewellery set I had as a teenager), and the blue ones remind me of a painting by Gustav Klimt. And since my husband is game, I will buy sets of both over the next months. Yayy.


Here are a few photos of me wearing them.

I do not use elastics in this hairdo. The pins are all that is holding the bun up.


Hair bun with reproduction roman hair pins inserted all around

I also don't use elastics for securing the ends of my braids, I tie them with simple, short fabric strips when I get to the end. About 2 inches long and 1/4 inch wide.

It's a bit of a messy bun, because I did it really fast when the hair pins first arrived. I was just so excited lol

The better I get at using them, the better it will look, as with anything new. You can have some fun by researching medieval and ancient Roman hairstyles and playing dress up and trying them all out. I am so looking forward.


Close up of bun with reproduction roman hair pins

I have been wearing mine since they arrived. They hold my bun nice and secure. I shook my head and it did not fall apart even one bit. They are also super comfortable to wear. Since it is more than one stick, you can arrange them so they keep your hair tight, but don't dig into your scalp, like the chop sticks sometimes do. And no, they do not turn my hair green lol.


Women back home in Bavaria also still use a variation of these pins in their hair, when wearing our traditional garb. This was another reason why I just had to have them and why I simply MUST have them in the garnet colour, as that is also a very traditional stone.


Close up of bun with reproduction roman hairpins

If you have your heart set on something specific and cannot find it anywhere, don't hesitate to contact an artisan/craftsperson to ask if they could make it. Most of them are amazingly nice people and really happy to try new things.


It also is not as expensive as one would think something custom made might be. Most craftspeople have reasonable prices, or if given a budget are really great at finding something that works within.


Some advice: be open minded. Some things may work in your head, or on paper, but not in real live. I would definitely recommend to defer to the artist's experience and recommendations. They know what they are doing. They know their material and their tools and what can be done.


Next time you are looking for the impossible, try having it hand made. It is always best!


Xo,❤


B. 🐝








16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art journal on a budget. The video

My blog is being difficult and not letting me add photos right now, or videos, so I have to give you a link to youtube. So, if you are in the mood to hear me ramble on for 20 minutes about paper... b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page