top of page

Plant mobile

I swear my friend gives me things just to see what I do with them.

She apparently had these plastic disco ball necklaces laying about her place and dropped them off at my house with some other stuff.

When I showed her what I did with them she had to laugh and said I just popped them in the box, because I didn't know what to do with them, or where I even got them. But I figured you would come up with something!

Well, I did.


Small golf ball sized plastic disco ball necklaces with blue string on white background. One is whole. The other one is taken apart into two halves.

At first I stared at them for a few days. Then I turned them this way and that and figured out the halves separate. Oh. Now they are tiny bowls... or PLANTERS!

Since the plastic disco ball look does not vibe with the rest of my decor, I spray painted them with the only spray paint I currently have on hand. White. (Desperately have to replenish my stash!)

Note: a real disco ball would probably fit right in, but this plastic stuff was not at all the toast of the place.


Same disco balls all spray painted white and twine laying under them on white background

After the spray paint dried, I cut some twine in different lengths and hot glued them to the inside of the ball. I tried drilling holes with my dremmel first, which worked, but was just a bit more bother than I wanted to go to.

Twine hotglued to the inside of the disco ball halves

Since there won't be a lot of soil and only tiny succulents, the weight won't be astronomic, so the hot glue and only two string were enough, otherwise one would need four string to keep things balanced.


Baby silver dollar succulent planted in the disco ball half and suspended from a driftwood branch

I cut one of my recycled tea bags to size and layered it over the holes in the little planters (what used to be the top of the disco ball things) then I added the soil and chose a few tiny succulent babies I have around the house. With the planting finished, I attached the little planters to the mobile stick that previously held my book page fish.

I like to shake things up now and again.


Christmas cactus clipping planted in the disco ball half and suspended from a driftwood stick


Succulent baby black Prince planted in the disco ball half and suspended from a driftwood stick.

I will have to water these tiny vessels with my plant mister, while doing my flying Valendas act, balancing on my desk chair lol, but succulents don't need much water, so it won't be a daily chore.


View of the whole mobile in my living room corner. A window is visible to the right of the frame and my coffee sack with a heart print and the words el corazon is to the left on the wall. You also get to see two vinyl covers decorating the top of the room on the wall . The driftwood stick has the three succulent babies in their spray painted disco ball pots suspended from it, as well as a vintage brooch in the shape of a wind chime.

I like the way it came together. Floating plants are so much fun!


Hope you will have a great weekend!


Xo❤


B🐝

13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page