top of page

Thimbles




Years and years ago, I made myself a leather thimble.

I loved it very much. It fit spot on and did the job.

I made it out of a piece of leather chamois I had.


Sadly that leather proved too soft to really stand up against the daily use I put it through. The needles started to poke through.


I have since tried a bunch of different kinds of thimbles, all with the same result. I don't like any if them. The metal ones never fit right and make my finger sweat, as do the plastic ones. The ring thimbles tend to losen up and slip, never mind how often I tighten them. The metal Sahiko thimbles are worn too low on my fingers and don't work with the way I work.


I had some other leather scraps at home and tried to sew another thimble but the leather was too tough for me to get my needle through and make a consistent seam, tight enough to keep the needles out.


My husband had finally had enough of the under my breath (and not so under my breath) swearing and bought me my dream thimble. A full leather Bohin thimble.


I am in heaven. It fits like a glove. You have to wear it for a while, get the leather nice and warm and work it around your finger a bit, to make it really yours. But then it fits perfectly!


This thimble was not cheap. Actually it was downright sinfully expensive, if you ask me. But it will last me for years to come, make my work more comfortable and save my fingers from getting poked and bloody. Specially when you quilt by hand, this is something to be happy about. My finger actually got so sore one time! It is now a bit calloused, but a thimble still saves me a lot of pain.


Thanks baby! ❤


What thimbles do you use? Have you ever made one yourself?

29 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art journal on a budget. The video

My blog is being difficult and not letting me add photos right now, or videos, so I have to give you a link to youtube. So, if you are in the mood to hear me ramble on for 20 minutes about paper... b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page